Types of Esophageal Cancer

Cancer cells may be located on different tissues of the esophagus. Thus, there are several types of esophageal cancer, depending on the group of cells from which the tumor develops. The most common types of esophageal cancer are squamous cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma of the esophagus.

Squamous cell carcinoma – this type of esophageal cancer is found, most of the times, in the cells that line the inner surface of the esophagus; it represents about 90% of esophageal cancers. Squamous cell carcinoma is often associated with intoxication with alcohol or tobacco, and tends to grow in the middle of the esophagus tube.

Adenocarcinoma – adenocarcinoma of the esophagusgrows on the layer of cells covering the inside of the esophagus. The tumor tends to develop in the lower portion of the esophagus.

Other types of esophageal cancer – although rare, you may also suffer from one of the esophageal cancers

  • esophageal choriocarcinoma
  • esophageal lymphoma 
  • esophageal melanoma 
  • Esophageal sarcoma 
  • Small cell esophageal cancer 

                    Risk Factors                                                             Symptoms

Leave a Reply